Call Us For A Free Consultation Toll-Free 888.736.7411 Local 214.984.3384

Intoxication Manslaughter Charges in Texas

Have you been arrested for Intoxication Manslaughter in Dallas?

Intoxication Manslaughter is the most serious of the DWI type charges and carries the stiffest penalties. There's also the reminder that another person lost their life in an accident you were involved in. Intoxication Manslaughter cases must be defended in the most careful, yet aggressive manner.

What are the penalties for Intoxication Manslaughter in Texas?

The Texas Penal Code classifies Intoxication Manslaughter as a 2nd Degree Felony, punishable by 2-20 years imprisonment in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

The Texas Penal Code also allows for an enhancement of the charge to a 1st Degree Felony if the victim killed as a result of the Intoxication Manslaughter was a police officer, a firefighter, or EMS personnel operating under the scope of their official duties. Possible punishment for a 1st Degree felony is 5-99 years imprisonment in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

You need an attorney with a wealth of knowledge for an intoxication manslaughter case. This type of defense requires extensive research as well as obtaining the forensic evidence, chemical testing, interviewing eye witnesses, obtaining surveillance equipment near the scene, and possibly completing an independent accident reconstruction. Our defense team will also consider the use of additional experts to aide in the defense of an Intoxication Manslaughter case.

An ignition interlock device must be installed on an Intoxication Manslaughter defendant's vehicle. This device prohibits the vehicle from starting without the driver first providing a sample of breath. If the sample registers alcohol, the vehicle will not start and the alcohol level will be reported to the Judge.

The following is the Texas Penal Code Statute on Intoxication Manslaughter, Section 49.08

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:

Operates a motor vehicle in a public place, operates an aircraft, a watercraft, or an amusement ride, or assembles a mobile amusement ride; and Is intoxicated and by reason of that intoxication causes the death of another by accident or mistake.

(b) Except as provided by Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.

Contact The Wilder Firm Today

Fill out the information below and we’ll review your case for free.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.