Back to the Basics - Understanding the Ignition Interlock Devices & DWI in Texas

If you are convicted of DWI in the state of Texas, you may be ordered by the court to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. An ignition interlock device requires you to perform a breathalyzer test every time you drive your vehicle. For some, the test must result in a sample below the state’s legal limit. For others, the test must result in a sample containing absolutely no alcohol. For everyone, the ignition interlock device is an annoyance, a hassle, a significant expense, and a daily reminder that you were convicted of driving under the influence. Hopefully, these words are just a reminder to never drive while intoxicated. However, if you have been arrested for DWI in Texas, these words should inspire you to contact an experienced Texas DWI attorney about your legal options concerning the charges against you.

An Ignition Interlock Device Can Be Substantial In Cost

If you are ordered by a court in which you are convicted for DWI to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, you will first have to pay to have the device installed in your vehicle. This cost is typically around $100. Besides this cost, you will be charged a monthly fee for leasing the device. Usually, this amount is around $100. As you can see, these sums can really add up over the course of a year.

An Ignition Interlock Device is Visible To Drivers, Passengers, and Pedestrians

An ignition interlock device is usually connected to the vehicle dashboard. Before you can start your vehicle, you must blow into the mouthpiece of the device. The device then measures your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). If you provide an acceptable BAC sample, the device allows your vehicle to start. Imagine going through this process dozens of times a day for a year or more. You’re going to work in the morning. Breathalyzer test. You’re on the way home from the grocery store. Breathalyzer test. You’re driving back from date night at the movies. Breathalyzer test. As you can easily imagine, the inconvenience and the shame are awful. You do not want to go through the hassle of dealing with an ignition interlock device for a long period of time.

What To Do If You Have Been Arrested For DWI In Texas

A DWI charge is a very serious matter. You only have 15 days from the date of the arrest to schedule an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety. You will also have to face charges in court. A conviction will result in substantial fines and surcharges, and other serious penalties. You will benefit greatly from contacting an experienced Texas DWI attorney to discuss your legal options. A skilled and experienced attorney will evaluate the state’s case against you, and fight to protect your rights.

Categories: