What Is The Texas Law Regarding Intoxicated Manslaughter?

Understanding the consequences you may face for DWI manslaughter in Texas.

When it comes to being charged for driving while intoxicated (DWI), there are a lot of factors about your arrest that a judge will consider when coming up with the penalties for your case. For instance, if your arrest is a second or third time offense, you may face harsher penalties than if it was your first drinking and driving offense.

One of the most serious offenses that could significantly affect the outcome of your DWI case and leave you facing a 2nd degree felony is intoxicated manslaughter.

Intoxicated manslaughter, also commonly referred to as vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, is the crime of causing death to another person as the result of an accident or mistake caused by illegal operation of a vehicle. Speeding, reckless driving and general gross negligence that causes vehicular manslaughter due to alcohol are also all factors that can eventually lead to an intoxicated manslaughter charge in Dallas.

To help you better understand the law regarding intoxicated manslaughter in Texas, here is some information about this drinking and driving charge, as well as what you can expect if you are faced with this charge in Dallas:

What Penalties Do You Face With Intoxication Manslaughter?

There are a number of different ranges of punishments that you may face if you are found guilty of intoxication manslaughter:

  • Jail time: In Texas, a judge can confine you to the Texas Department of Corrections (TDC) for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 20 years if you are convicted of intoxication manslaughter.
  • Fine: A fine for this charge will typically not exceed $10,000.
  • Ignition interlock system: If you are charged with intoxicated assault, you are required by Texas state law to install an ignition interlock device in your car, and you are not allowed to drive any vehicle that is not equipped with one of these devices.

Can You Be Granted Probation After Intoxication Manslaughter?

If you hire an experienced DWI lawyer who is educated in intoxication manslaughter, they may be able to fight for probation to be granted during your court case. While you still must service a minimum of 120 days in jail as a condition of the probation for intoxication manslaughter, probation is almost always a favorable option than jail.

However, with probation comes a number of penalties in addition to the ones listed above. Here are just a few examples:

  • Monthly reporting to your probation officer each month.
  • A minimum of 200 hours of completed community service, and no more than 800 hours.
  • A required alcohol and drug evaluation through a government agency to see if you have a further alcohol problem.
  • The completion of an approved DWI education class that must begin within 180 days of being placed on probation.
  • You may be ordered to stay within the state of Texas (or even within a specific county) for the duration of your probation.

In order to get the best results from your intoxicated manslaughter DWI case, be sure to contact one of our experienced Texas DWI lawyers at The Wilder Firm today. We can help you fight for the results you want and ensure that this arrest does not have an overwhelming affect on your future.

Categories: