Underage Drunk Driving in Texas

There are many states with strict laws regarding underage DWI/DUI, and Texas is definitely one of them. Our state has adopted a Zero Tolerance law, which basically means that an individual under the age of 21 can be charged with DWI if they are found to have any amount of alcohol or drugs in their system at the time of driving.

According to a recent survey, 14% of DWI related fatalities in Texas are caused by minor drivers. Due to this daunting number, law enforcement agencies continue to crack down on underage drunk driving. The potential penalties have also become harsher, carrying tougher consequences even for first time offenders.

What are the penalties for under 21 DWI/DUI?

In Texas, drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with either driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving while under the influence (DUI). If someone under the age of 21 is charged with drunk driving, they face a Class C offense that carries serious penalties.

For example, an underage driver may face the following types of penalties for a first offense:

  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • A mandatory Alcohol Education Program
  • Community service
  • Ignition interlock device installation

It is also important to keep in mind that if the driver fails to comply with the mandatory Alcohol Education Program, their license will be suspended for 180 days.

Additionally, because the driver is under legal drinking age, they could face other charges and restrictions, such as those for underage possession of alcohol.

Have you been charged with DWI or DUI while underage? It’s important to understand that more than your driving privileges are at stake. Your future, reputation, and record are on the line, so don’t wait to enlist the defense of an experienced lawyer. Contact our Dallas DWI defense attorneys at The Wilder Firm today to learn how we can aggressively fight your charges!

Categories: