AGGRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE & PERSONALIZED DEFENSE Serving Clients in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Tarrant Counties and All of North Texas

Theft Crimes Lawyer in Plano

Protect Yourself from Harmful Accusations

For most crimes, the charges and penalties you will face are dependent on the severity of the offense and whether you have had prior convictions. This is very much the case for theft crimes in the state of Texas. If you have been charged with one of these crimes, it is important that you immediately get the help of an experienced Plano criminal defense lawyer to help you build a strong defense. With over 20 years of proven experience, the team at the Wilder Law Firm stands ready to help.

Dial (214) 855-7737 now to schedule your FREE consultation.

What are the Different Theft Charges in Texas?

Under Texas law, you have committed the crime of theft if you have unlawfully appropriated property with the intent to deprive the owner of property. The lowest charge a person can receive in Texas for a theft-related offense is a Class C misdemeanor and continues on to a First Degree felony.

Penalties for crimes are as follows:

  • Class C Misdemeanor Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals less than $50. There is no jail time associated with this type of misdemeanor, but the offender may be fined up to $500.
  • Class B Misdemeanor Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $50 or more, but less than $500. The other possibility is that the stolen property is a driver’s license or other state-issued identification. This misdemeanor is punishable by no more than 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000.
  • Class A Misdemeanor Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $500 or more, but less than $1,500. This misdemeanor is punishable by no more than one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
  • State Jail Felony Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $1,500 or more, but less than $20,000. The other possibility is that the stolen property is of a certain type (i.e., a firearm, various livestock). This felony is punishable by 180 days-2 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
  • Felony of the Third Degree Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000. Similar to the State Jail Felony Theft classification, the property could also be of a certain type (livestock) to warrant this type of charge. This felony is punishable by 2-10 years of jail time in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000.
  • Felony of the Second Degree Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $100,000 or more, but less than $200,000. This felony is punishable by 2-20 years of jail time in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000.
  • Felony of the First Degree Theft: This is the appropriate charge if the value of the service or the property stolen totals $200,000 or more. This felony is punishable by 5-99 years of jail time in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000.

Does it Matter in Texas If You Have Been Convicted of a Theft Crime Before?

As stated above, prior convictions will play a role in the sentencing related to a theft offense. If an individual has a prior conviction for any type of theft, any additional theft committed in Texas involving an amount less than $50 will result in a Class B misdemeanor rather than a Class C misdemeanor.

Furthermore, if a person has two or more previous convictions related to any level of theft, any additional theft crime (involving an amount less than $1,500) committed by that person will automatically result in the offense being treated as a felony, rather than a misdemeanor.

Civil Liability for a Texas Theft Crime

A person who commits theft in Texas may also be civilly liable to the individual that the crime was committed against. Generally, the victim may recover the cost related to the actual damages for the theft as well as receive an additional $1,000.

Should You Contact an Attorney?

If you have been charged with a theft offense in Texas, contact a qualified Plano theft crimes attorney who will explain your rights and help to create a defense that will ensure that you will receive the best possible outcome for your case.

Call the Wilder Law Firm today to schedule a FREE initial consultation. Dial (214) 855-7737 now. We serve Collin, Dallas, and Tarrant counties.

Our Commitment

  • CORRESPONDENCE

    Notification of all Court settings and updates in writing, as well as assistance preparing for your DWI court appearance.

  • THOROUGH INVESTIGATION

    A full investigation will be conducted into all the facts of your case. Our goal is to develop the best possible defense for your case.

  • PHONE CALLS

    All calls will be returned by a member of our firm by the end of the next business day. You will also have immediate call or text access with us.

  • TRIAL CONFERENCE

    A trial conference will be conducted in our office to ensure that we can properly & effectively discuss the facts of your case.