AGGRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE & PERSONALIZED DEFENSE Serving Clients in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Tarrant Counties and All of North Texas

Penalties for DWI in Plano

Guard against the Lifelong Consequences of a Conviction

In Texas, you will be arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if you are found to have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08% or greater. A DWI arrest in Texas can lead to time in jail and heavy fines. The penalties associated with DWI will be increased if the individual charged has been convicted of any prior DWI related offenses. If you were arrested for DWI, call the Wilder Law Firm right away. Let our Plano criminal defense lawyer help you fight for the best possible outcome.

Call (214) 855-7737 now or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with the team at the Wilder Law Firm.

Penalties for DWI

The severity of consequences for a DWI is connected with a number of different factors including whether or not this is the first offense, whether or not there were children in the car, if the driver was a minor, and other circumstances.

The following are likely penalties associated with the different DWI offenses observed in the state of Texas:

  • First offense: Up to $2,000 in fines, jail time between 3 – 180 days, enrollment in an alcohol/DWI education program, loss of driver’s license for as much as one year, and an annual fee of a minimum of $1,000 for the three years following your license reinstatement
  • Second offense: Up to $4,000 in fines, jail time between one month – one year, enrollment in an alcohol/DWI education program, loss of driver’s license for as much as two years, an annual fee of a minimum of $1,000 for the three years following your license reinstatement, and possible installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Third offense: Up to $10,000 in fines, imprisonment of 2-10 years, enrollment in an alcohol/DWI education program, loss of driver’s license for as much as two years, an annual fee of a minimum of $1,000 for the three years following your license reinstatement, and possible installation of an ignition interlock device
  • DWI with a child passenger: If a passenger under 15 years of age is in the vehicle, penalties include up to $10,000 in fines, maximum of two years in jail, enrollment in an alcohol/DWI education program, and a loss of driver’s license for 180 days
  • Open container present: Anyone in the vehicle who is found to have an open container of alcohol can be charged and fined $500 for the violation

Minors & Texas DUI Laws

As a minor (under 21 years of age) in Texas, you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if found to have a BAC of .02% or greater.

Minors charged with their first DUI will face:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Loss of driver’s license for as much as two years
  • Community service
  • Required enrollment and attendance in an alcohol education and awareness program

Commercial Drivers & DWI in Texas

Drivers who hold a commercial license will be charged with DWI if they are found to have a BAC of .04% or greater.

Along with the normal penalties associated with DWI offenses for adults, penalties include:

  • Disqualification of the driver’s Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) for one year
  • Disqualification of CDL for three years if the driver transports hazardous materials

When to Contact an Attorney

Once you are arrested for DWI, the state immediately begins assembling the case to assess penalties. At the Wilder Law Firm, our award-winning team of legal professionals has the experience and tenacity your case needs to obtain the best possible outcome. Get our help today.

Call (214) 855-7737 now to begin working on your case.

Our Commitment

  • CORRESPONDENCE

    Notification of all Court settings and updates in writing, as well as assistance preparing for your DWI court appearance.

  • THOROUGH INVESTIGATION

    A full investigation will be conducted into all the facts of your case. Our goal is to develop the best possible defense for your case.

  • PHONE CALLS

    All calls will be returned by a member of our firm by the end of the next business day. You will also have immediate call or text access with us.

  • TRIAL CONFERENCE

    A trial conference will be conducted in our office to ensure that we can properly & effectively discuss the facts of your case.