AGGRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE & PERSONALIZED DEFENSE Serving Clients in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Tarrant Counties and All of North Texas

Plano License Suspension Lawyers

Get Help from a Top Dallas, Plano & Collin County DWI Defense Attorney

One of the most common punishments for a DWI charge is a suspension of your license. Losing your license can greatly impact your life. Losing the ability to drive to work, school, run errands, and more can severely change your day to day living. It’s important that if you are facing these potential punishments, you have a team of dedicated attorneys on your side. The Wilder Firm can assist you with your DWI case. We are a criminal defense firm in Plano that has been assisting our community for over 20 years.

For a quick response or free evaluation of your DUI/DWI arrest, please contact our Texas drunk driving attorneys at (214) 855-7737.

Common DWI Questions

When you are facing a DWI charge, you immediately have countless questions. Our Collin County criminal defense attorneys understand have provided answers to some of your more common questions below.

If I refuse or fail a chemical test, how do I prevent my license from being suspended in Texas?

Upon refusing or failing a chemical test, the law permits a police officer to immediately seize your license. You will be issued a temporary driving permit valid for 40 days, and can also request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. You are required to receive a written notice of suspension of your driving privileges, and you must request an ALR hearing within 15 days.

If you request this hearing, your privileges will not be suspended until after the hearing. If the judge rules in your favor, your license will be returned to you. If you have your license suspended and are then found not guilty, the suspension is immediately removed – although it’s your responsibility to notify the correct authorities.

Is it important to request an ALR hearing after a Texas DWI?

It is very important to request an ALR hearing for three reasons:

  • You can prevent the suspension of your driving privileges
  • You force the state to prove that the officer had probable cause to arrest you
  • The officer’s testimony can later prove valuable in your DWI trial

If I pass a chemical test, can I still lose my license?

Yes, but only if you’re convicted of a DWI. Your license would not be suspended prior to the trial.

What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in Texas?

This offense is a Class B misdemeanor with punishment ranging from 3-180 days in jail and/or $100-$500 in fines for each violation.

What Can I Do After My License is Suspended?

In many circumstances, you may apply for an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL). To obtain an ODL, you must show good cause. Taking your kids to school, driving to work, and going to the grocery store or doctor are all good cause. This license allows you to drive during a specific period of time each day.

However, if you have had an alcohol-related offense in the previous 10 years, you will not be eligible for an Occupational Driver’s License for the first 180 days of the subsequent suspension. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car.

Please contact us if your question was not answered above. We are here for you!

Our Commitment

  • CORRESPONDENCE

    Notification of all Court settings and updates in writing, as well as assistance preparing for your DWI court appearance.

  • THOROUGH INVESTIGATION

    A full investigation will be conducted into all the facts of your case. Our goal is to develop the best possible defense for your case.

  • PHONE CALLS

    All calls will be returned by a member of our firm by the end of the next business day. You will also have immediate call or text access with us.

  • TRIAL CONFERENCE

    A trial conference will be conducted in our office to ensure that we can properly & effectively discuss the facts of your case.