AGGRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE & PERSONALIZED DEFENSE Serving Clients in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Tarrant Counties and All of North Texas

Reckless Driving Attorneys in Plano

Criminal Defense Attorneys with Over 20 Years of Experience

Everyone has lapses in judgment from time to time, and one such mistake is deciding to drive while intoxicated. The attorneys at the Wilder DWI Defense Firm understand that everyone makes mistakes, and they know that being charged with DWI can be devastating to you and your loved ones. What you may not know is that there are some circumstances in which it is possible to have a charge of DWI reduced to a charge of reckless driving, thereby avoiding the harsh penalties that accompany a Texas DWI conviction.

Contact our reckless driving attorneys in Plano today at (214) 855-7737 to schedule a free consultation.

DWI Penalties in Plano

The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for driving in Plano is .08%. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the legal BAC is .04%. If you are driving under the age of 21 and are given a breathalyzer test, any detectable alcohol is criminal.

The penalties if you are convicted of DWI in Texas are severe. If you initially refuse a blood or breath test, you automatically lose your license for 180 days.

If you are convicted of DWI and it is your first offense, you face:

  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Jail sentence between 3-180 days
  • Community service
  • Loss of your license for up to a year

In addition to all the above, a DWI will generally stay on your criminal record forever, but for a minimum of ten years. This can affect future employment, especially if you drive for a living, and result in higher insurance rates for an extremely long time. All of this is a tremendous burden on you and your family. The DWI trial attorneys at the Wilder DWI Defense Firm are experienced in helping clients get DWI charges resolved with either an acquittal, a dismissal, or in some circumstances, by having the charges reduced to reckless driving charges.

Reducing to a Reckless Driving Charge

Texas has a statute that bars plea bargain convictions for what is referred to as “wet reckless” or reckless driving involving alcohol. However, DWI charges can sometimes be reduced. It is not easy to get DWI charges reduced to reckless driving charges, and the stronger the evidence against you, the less likely your charge is to be reduced. However, in some situations, a Plano prosecutor will consider reducing the charge of DWI to reckless driving.

In general, if you have no criminal record and this is your first DWI arrest and charge, and especially if there are any questions surrounding the legality of the stop, you may be a candidate for reduction. If you are convicted of reckless driving, it is a misdemeanor traffic conviction with a fine of $200.

We Can Help You

Having charges reduced from DWI to reckless driving is an ideal resolution (outside of a dismissal of charges). The penalties pale in comparison to a DWI conviction, and you do not have the future consequences associated with DWI convictions.

Call or email our Plano criminal defense attorneys today at (214) 855-7737 for a complimentary consultation and to let us explore your case.

Our Commitment

  • CORRESPONDENCE

    Notification of all Court settings and updates in writing, as well as assistance preparing for your DWI court appearance.

  • THOROUGH INVESTIGATION

    A full investigation will be conducted into all the facts of your case. Our goal is to develop the best possible defense for your case.

  • PHONE CALLS

    All calls will be returned by a member of our firm by the end of the next business day. You will also have immediate call or text access with us.

  • TRIAL CONFERENCE

    A trial conference will be conducted in our office to ensure that we can properly & effectively discuss the facts of your case.